Rule 7: Do more; Don’t do less

Sooooo I write with a tiny dash of frustration and a pinch of anger today as it finally occurred to me that even working my ass off does not necessarily mean that I will be valued for doing so. Basically, to put things into context, imagine you have a job that is officially described as a teacher, but after you took the job you realised you can not only teach but you can also counsel students and help to motivate them! Not only that but you introduce new learning schemes and the students respond positively to it all! So that’s what you do, you take on responsibilities beyond the mere surface of your role, because well, when there’s a chance to improve things, why wouldn’t you take it?!

Now imagine it comes to the end of your time as a teacher and the fellow teachers advertise your role: “Wanted: a teacher. Role invovles: teaching”. All those new schemes and extra things you did will, if you successor wishes, die out. What was the point then? Why bother doing all those extra things when no one recognises it and even belittles your role?!

That was genuinely how I felt when I saw a role of mine going up for election (because my term in office had finished!). I was quite hurt as I had introduced so many new things to the role that I thought of course this will be good for future years! This system will be so much more efficient! These documents will be very important come hand-over! But then it all came down to this laissez-faire attitude to my role.


HOWEVER. After some thinking I realised that WHO CARES if no one recognises what I did as a “teacher” (my role wasn’t actually a teacher), I bet those students who I helped appreciated it. And I know that they do from speaking to them all throughout the year. To anyone else it may seem like my role is not that important but to those I am helping it most certainly is. Why should I not do more, why should I settle for anything less than a role that satisfies me and helps others?

Recognition is great, but it is not all that matters. In life, I’m guessing, there will be boundless times when you do all the work but you get none of the credit – at the end of the day there is a saying in Chinese which essentially says

as long as, in your soul and through your honour you stand before yourself with a clear conscience, there is no wrong

I completely agree that you do things for yourself to acknowledge even when no one else does.

So HNTBALS says keep doing more than you need to, because that is what fulfils YOU!

6 thoughts on “Rule 7: Do more; Don’t do less

  1. Hey! I really like your blog, its very interesting! I’m also a law student in Belgium and it is my goal to get in at Oxford for an MJur… Is it possible to share some titles of the books you have to read for your courses? I would really appreciate it! Anyway, keep up the good work, I will keep reading it 🙂 thanks a lot in advance!

    Like

    1. Hi Claudia! Sorry I’ve been quite inactive on my blog recently.
      I won’t lie, I have no idea what the MJur involves so im not sure what titles to suggest! We read a lot more cases than books – in fact, the only books we really have to read are for Jurisprudence and that ranges from Hart’s A Concept of Law to Dworkin’s Law’s Empire!

      Like

  2. Hi!!
    I just wanted to thank you for your inspirational posts. I am also a law student and having finished my second year, I was starting to lose sight of why I even started studying this subject to begin with. I constantly felt that maybe this was not my path and even wondered what I was doing here in the first place as I was surrounded by people so much more intelligent and enthusiastic about the subject than I was. If I am to be honest, I am still unsure and quite demotivated for my third year. However, reading your posts have comforted me. If only I had found your blog a little sooner, maybe I would have been more motivated during the year. Thank you for your words and comfort!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Thanks so much for commenting – I am so happy to hear that you find my posts comforting 🙂
      I completely understand how you feel – I feel like that all the time! But it’s just a matter of believing in yourself and making the most out of your time while studying! Remember why you applied to study law to begin with (I assume it’s to do with justice and fairness) and remember that just because your syllabus says you have to study contract law, peppery law and trusts law, doesn’t mean you can’t look into the more philosophical questions of equality and jurisprudence and all those exciting subjects that law students seem to forget once we start our degree. We’re still humans and it is completely natural to feel a little overwhelmed by others but you can do it! I believe in you 🙂 and trust me, if I can do it, anyone can!

      Like

Leave a Reply

